Main content

Discoloration Defense Serum

High-potency serum targets visible skin discolouration for brighter, more even-looking skin
Discoloration Defense Serum is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 123.
  • y_2022, m_1, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_123
  • loc_en_GB, sid_3606000481282, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_skinceuticals-eu
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 163ms
  • reviews, product

Discoloration Defense Serum is layerable, daily-use dark spot corrector serum clinically proven the ... Read full description

Discoloration Defense Serum

Discoloration Defense Serum

High-potency serum targets visible skin discolouration for brighter, more even-looking skin

Why shop with us ?

  • Free delivery on all orders​
  • 2 free luxury samples with every order worth up to £38

Discoloration Defense Serum is layerable, daily-use dark spot corrector serum clinically proven the reduce the appearance of key types of skin discolouration, including stubborn brown patches and post-blemish scars. Our latest generation formula improves the appearance of skin discolouration to reveal visibly brighter- looking skin.

SKIN TYPES: Normal, Oily, Combination, Dry

SKIN CONDITION: Discolouration

Key Ingredients

1.8% Tranexamic Acid

5% Niacinamide

5% Hepes

Composition

AQUA / WATER, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, NIACINAMIDE, HYDROXYETHYLPIPERAZINE ETHANE SULFONIC ACID, GLYCERIN, HYDROXYETHYL UREA, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, TRANEXAMIC ACID, PHENOXYETHANOL, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, ALLANTOIN, CHLORPHENESIN, XANTHAN GUM, DISODIUM EDTA (D227872/1).

*Please be aware that ingredient lists for products in our brand are updated regularly. Please refer to the ingredient list on the product package for the most up-to-date list of ingredients to ensure it is suitable for your personal use.

Discoloration Defense Serum

How is SkinCeuticals committed to becoming more sustainable?

SkinCeuticals is committed to looking for ways to improve the sustainability profile of our formulas and ingredient development by aiming to follow these principles:

  • Reduce our water footprint index
  • Source more renewable ingredients
  • Increase biodegradability (of rinse-off formulas)
  • Minimise our packaging through continuous optimisation and innovation and greater use of post-consumer recycled (PCR) materials.

Features a synergistic blend of anti-discolouration and exfoliating ingredients to improve the appearance of skin discoloration including hyperpigmentation, post-blemish scars and stubborn brown spots.

Ideal at-home complement to professional skin discolouration treatments, such as chemical peels or non-ablative laser; always consult with a physician for individual regimen recommendations

Discoloration Defense Serum

How to Use

  • Twice daily, apply 3-5 drops of Discoloration Defense serum to the face and neck
  • If using in the morning, apply after a SkinCeuticals vitamin C serum and follow with a SkinCeuticals broad spectrum SPF 30+ sunscreen
  • Limit sun exposure while using this product

1. Cleanse & Tone

Cleanse and tone the skin. Pat dry.

We recommend
Gentle Cleanser

2. Prevent

Apply 4-5 drops of your anitoxidant seurm to a dry face, neck, and chest.

We recommend
Phloretin CF

3. Correct

Apply  3-5 drops of Discoloration Defense serum to the face and neck. Always follow with a sunscreen. 

We recommend
Discoloration Defense Serum & Advanced Brightening UV Defense

Clinical Results

Individual results at 12 weeks.

Before and after results

Protocol: 12-week, clinical study, 63 subjects. Discoloration Defense Serum was applied to the face twice a day in conjunction with a sunscreen. 

You May Also Like

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great so far... I was sent this to review and given that I had just returned from a few days in the sun was very interested in how it would deal with the regular hiperpignentation and acne marks. I’m a regular active user in my skincare routine but have never tried tranexamic acid. I love that it’s blended with nicinamide as it’s a favourite of mine for targeted pigmentation and also supporting skin structure. I had no reaction to the serum whatsoever and used 5 drops twice a day for two weeks so far. I’m really impressed so far and love that you wake up with a glow to your skin, from the brightening complex of actives ingredients. This product wasn’t harsh and didn’t cause me to break out. As you can see in my before (green shirt) and after (yellow) photos, my tan has been gently exfoliated, my pigmentation from my acne marks on my cheeks have faded slightly and I’m sure there’s a slight decrease in my pigmentation on my cheekbone and forehead. So far I’m impressed and am looking forward to continuing using the serum to see if/any further benefits I receive from it! The texture is fine, watery gel and easy to layer.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good texture, don't expect miracles The texture is good, light and absorbed quickly. You really do just need 4-5 drops as advised, any more and it drys a bit tacky. There is no scent. It goes on nicely as the 1st or 2nd step in getting my face ready with the final step being suncare. I mainly used it at night and in the morning there is a mild noticeable even tone about my skin. This is with two weeks use. But I am also using Phloretin and have had a mandelic peel at the start of the 2 weeks. Perhaps over time, the discolouration changes will be more noticeable.
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lovely texture and a pleasure to use, seeing some results with continued use I have some pigmentation around my forehead and on the tops of my cheeks that becomes more obvious in the summer months. It also got worse while I was on the contraceptive pill. I was very keen to try this serum as a way to lessen the appearance of these marks. This serum has a really lovely silky texture and is a pleasure to apply. I used it in the evening and I felt that it definitely started to make the brown marks look faded and less pronounced. I was aware that the product requires the use of a sunscreen, to avoid the marks coming back, and because it may make the skin more sensitive to the sun. I have never found a product that has lessened the appearance of these marks. I think results would continue to improve with consistent use.
Date published: 2020-11-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good...but early days I have started to use the serum 12 days ago. I have some discolouration under my eyes , and although the undereye area looks really hydrated, the discolouration is still there - I think I need to give it more time. But, I love the smoothness that the serum leaves on my skin. I really think that the discolouration will get much better through continuous use. Thank you Skinceuticals.
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brown spots faded You really cannot go wrong ever with skinceuticals products and the discolouration defends serum simply works. I am 47 years old and two summers ago I was eating lunch, with the British sun on one cheek and i got sun burn for the first time in years. I realised I had forgotten my SPF. This burn has subsequently caused a brown discolouration which hasn’t gone away. It’s like a mass merge of my freckles. As a result, I’m quite paranoid to have my face in the sun and have felt my skin has changed slightly with ageing. I now use a concealer in that area because the light foundation doesn’t cover up. So I was keen to try and now used the discolouration defends serum for 7 weeks now, and my brown cheek has faded! Really chuffed. I use it twice a day along with the triple lipid restore moisturiser after application and I use the Glycolic renewal cleanser (once a day) in the morning before application. (I use a balm cleanser once a day too).
Date published: 2021-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic results so far!!! I have tried numerous products on the market to help with my pigmentation, and I have never seen much of a difference. I have been using this new product for 2 weeks now and have seen a difference in the colour of my pigment already!! They are gone lighter, and less visible, pigment is very stubborn and hard to shift once there, but this product is doing wonders so far!! I love the texture on my skin as it’s not sticky or tacky, overall an amazing new product and will deffinetly be re purchasing when I have ran out!!
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for uneven skin!! I've been using this serum after applying SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic vitamin c serum for approximately four weeks. The serum has a high-end feel and a powerful formulation . My overall uneven skin tone, which was caused by acne, has improved significantly . I also didn't have any skin purging as a result of using the serum. It is non-oily and absorbs fast into the skin. Because Niacinamide is an ingredient in the serum, I've noticed a significant improvement in the texture of my skin, and I believe that regular use will improve the appearance of my pores. Furthermore, I found that this serum helped to control my oil production throughout the day, making it excellent for usage under makeup. This serum is continuously going to be a staple in my daily skincare routine!!!
Date published: 2021-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent results in a shaker time Have been trying this product for a month now and can’t believe I actually see real results. It has lovely texture. Not oily. Leaves my skin feeling lovely. The results are noticeable and substantial.
Date published: 2021-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helped with discolouration I had some dark patches around my face and using this serum really helped to blend it with the rest of my skin tone! I have really sensitive skin but I didn’t react to this so I’m super happy!
Date published: 2021-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I have oily skin, with hyperpigmentation from past blemishes. I look for products that won't break me out, but also won't irritate my skin as it can be sensitive from retinol use. This product feels nice to put on, no irritation, I like the fact it isn't acid heavy even though it treats discolouration. It contains niacinamide which supports the skin barrier, which helps with my sensitivity. My skin looks more even and bright, which I'm pleased with, and hasn't made me break out. I've only been using it for a few weeks so it's hard to tell if it's worked on the more stubborn marks, but I definitely think it's helped prevent new hyperpigmentatiom occurring after blemishes which is great. It also isn't too heavy and doesn't feel tacky on the skin like some serums, making it easy to layer products comfortably.
Date published: 2021-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glowing skin! I’ve been using this each night for the past 4 weeks, the aim to reduce sun marks and pigmentation on my face. Three - four drops max are needed as it goes in well, there’s an ever so slight oily feel to the product which makes it spread well. Each morning my face is glowing and it’s very smooth, the pigmentation on my face has not disappeared (not expecting - only used for 4 weeks so far) but it has definitely fading. Looking forward to the rewards of using this serum
Date published: 2021-10-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Early days I have been using this serum for 3 weeks now, once instead of the advised twice daily. Applied in the morning on top of a vitamin C serum and left to sink in before applying moisturiser. The liquid is very light, with only 4 drops needed for complete coverage. I’m yet to notice a marked difference, but it’s early days and my sun damaged Australian skin can be stubborn!
Date published: 2019-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good serum for even skin tone I have one very small patch of pigmentation, I used the serum and it has lightened it a little. I have had the pigmentation a while and didn't expect the serum to fix it in 2 weeks, I'll keep going and see what happens. However, the serum is the usual high standard you expect from SkinCeuticals. It is lightweight and easy to use, I love the fact you can layer with other serums as I love my Vit C. My skin definitely looks more even in tone and feels soft & smooth.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Product. Started using this product 2 weeks ago and so impressed with result. Eye catching bottle. Used three drops over my cheeks, chin and nose twice daily. Easily absorbed and leaves a lovely silky smooth texture. Amazed at the results over such a short period. Sun damaged spots on my cheeks have started to lightened but it is the overall brightening of my complexion that had been so pleasing. I feel as if I am glowing!! Looking forward to seeing the long term results.
Date published: 2019-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magic in a bottle I have some noticeable patches of discolouration on my face that I am quite self conscious about so I was keen to try the discolouration defense serum after having much success with other SkinCeuticals products. I love how this product just glides onto my skin and how it leaves it feeling smooth after application. Most of all though I love how it has made a difference to the light brown discolouration patches that I had on my face, in fact, they have pretty much disappeared (I wish I had taken a before and after photo). A very pleasant side effect is that it has also made a lot of my blemish marks and patches fade away to the point where they are hardly noticeable either. A little goes a long way too and although pricey, this product lasts ages and is definitely worth the investment. Another five star product for SkinCeuticals.
Date published: 2021-10-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me Unfortunately this product has not worked for me. It has not faded any of my scarring or dark marks. It makes my skin a little dry and my sun screen piles up as well. I'm pretty disappointed as this was an expensive product and sadly it has not delivered. I notice that the formulation for this one (UK) is different to the US one, which has a higher % of Tranexamic Acid and also contains Kojic. I imagine those two ingredients alone would change the results.
Date published: 2020-08-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Feels really good I have been using this product for a couple of weeks so far. Its easy to use and feels nice on my skin. I have a significant brown discolouration on my jaw line and the outside edges of my face, I haven't seen any major changes with this at the moment, but I am eager to continue to use this product for a little longer and I am hopeful to see some positive results. I have had no adverse effect with it and my skin has a tendency to be very sensitive.
Date published: 2019-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Evens Skin Tone. So far I’ve really enjoyed using this product. I always worry that my skin will react (as it can be quite sensitive) but I’ve had no adverse reactions, and if anything my skin appears to be smoother and clearer. On the areas of my face where there is slight discolouration, I have noticed my skin is brighter - so I will continue using this serum. Very happy with the results so far, and I’ve only been using the serum for about three weeks.
Date published: 2021-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unfortunately irritated my skin I am always looking for new products and formulations to tackle my pigmentation so was thrilled to give this a go. Unfortunately my skin reacted to something in this product so I was unable to use it long enough to see results. Really disappointed as I was excited to see what this new formula could do. While I can’t recommend it based on any personal results I do rate Skinceuticals highly and have benefitted from other skincare in their range.
Date published: 2019-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good results so far I have started to use the serum about 1 month and a half. I have some discolouration on my jaw line and the outside edges of my face, I haven't seen any major changes with this at the moment but I think I need to give it more time, maybe. I love the smoothness that the serum leaves on my skin. I really think that the discolouration will get much better through continuous use. It's absorbed pretty fast and doesn't leave my skin stick
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glowing skin! As someone with lots of pigmented birthmarks on my face, using skin lightening products has been a routine since I was a teenager. I have sensitive combination skin and even though I've tried different formulas over the years none of them felt completely right for my complexion. But this product is nothing like the lighteners I had used before! This serum is gentle on my skin, lightweight, not greasy, and has not caused me to break out at all. It is smooth to apply, layers well with my vitamin C serum and absorbs very nicely, leaving the skin feeling fresh and ready for my makeup or my moisturiser before bed. I have been using Discoloration Defense for two weeks, twice a day, and in this short time, I’m beginning to see my facial skin brighter, with a nice healthy glow. I'm looking forward to seeing long-term results and what this product can do on my dark spots!
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressed Have been using it now morning and night for the last two weeks and have definitely noticed an improvement in my skin tone will continue to use it and will review it again in a few weeks to see if the improvement is sustained but for now I’m impressed, having tried various products over the years this one so far is definitely the best , I do use skinceuticals mineral spf 50 over this in daytime which I think enhances it
Date published: 2019-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, my skin looks amazing! I've been using this serum for 3 weeks now and I am amazed at how quickly my skin has responded. It looks brighter and the tone is more even and the few very fine lines near my eyes and mouth and have almost disappeared. The serum goes on smoothly and blends right into the skin, no residual sticky feeling at all. Several people have asked if I'd been on holiday and said how good I looked, so that is a definite win.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as described I have been using this product for the last three weeks, and I have to say I'm seriously impressed. You only need a few drops and it's absorbed really quickly, without any stickiness. I'm thrilled with the results - old acne scars on my chin are definately less noticeable, and my skin looks brighter and more even in texture, which gives me that 'grown up glow.' Bravo, a new staple in my skincare routine!
Date published: 2019-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now I can get away with a tinted sunscreen instead of foundation I am an avid walker, and despite wearing sunscreen every day, I have quite a few sun spots. When my adult acne cleared up, I was looking forward to giving up foundation and concealer, but my age spots just stood out even more! I tried load of different products, but nothing really made that much difference, so I was thinking of getting a peel. When I heard that Skinceuticals had launched a serum with 5% Niacinamide, which is higher than most, I thought I would try it. My skin can be really sensitive and loves niacinamide; I was also glad the ingredients list was so short - anything with a long inci list can irritate my skin. I had heard good things about Tranexamic acid and I wasn't disappointed. The sunspots have faded considerably so I never bothered with the peel. I have started using Mineral Radiance UV Defense spf 50 on top, so hopefully I won't get anymore sunspots!
Date published: 2021-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Skin looks brighter already! I have been using this for a week and Im surprised to see that my skin looks brighter already! I have asian skin and I sometimes I have scar tissue after I have had any breakouts and it takes forever for them to disappear so I was so pleased to see some of the stubborn marks making a slow exit! I was only using it once day initially but now use it twice a day and cant wait to see the results.
Date published: 2019-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely brightening serum I received this product to review from skinceuticals. As a mum of two getting close to 40 this product was very interesting to me. My skin has a little melasma and some dark spots. After use I felt my skin was looking clearer and brighter. It has not faded any dark spots yet. However I have only been using it for a short time. I am a avid user of skinceuticals. I really enjoy their products.
Date published: 2021-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lives up to its claims and more! Just as I thought Skinceuticals couldn't get any better! This is a really lovely product. I've used it for about a week and a half now and can already see the difference. The immediate difference is the wonderful glow and complexion it gives as soon as it is applied to the skin. Over time I have also noticed that my complexion is clearer and less pigmented. I get regular breakouts and have recently started to see some dark pigmented patches on my skin after sun exposure - this product has 100% helped. It is really lovely on the skin (I would say perfect for all skin types). It is very quickly absorbed and is not heavy at all. I have skin on the oilier side and have been using this product in hot humid weather, and it has worked so well at balancing my skin also. The claim that it provides results in two weeks has been totally true in my case. This will definitely be my staple product from now on!
Date published: 2019-08-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dont waste your money No change in my face, nothing happened.Dont waste your money on this product. I bought this product because I relied on the good comments and features of it. Unfortunetely, there isnt any tiny change on my skin. Dont think that it will work on your skin since it is expensive. Ignore it. Dont play with peoples feelings. I wish I could give zero star. it doesnt even deserve 1 star.
Date published: 2020-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glow giver This serum is fantastic, not only has it reduced a couple of sun damage areas on my cheeks it has brightened my whole complexion. I've used this twice a day as recommended, layered my usual serum and moisturiser over the top and completed with a spf 50 in the mornings. This played well with my other products too, no pilling. I will continue to use this until the very end, I love it.
Date published: 2021-10-26
  • y_2022, m_1, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_123
  • loc_en_GB, sid_3606000481282, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_skinceuticals-eu
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 12ms
  • reviews, product
Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device