Main content

Advanced Brightening UV Defense SPF 50

Dual-action, lightweight sunscreen with SPF 50 that helps protect the skin from UV-induced discolouration and helps evens skin tone.
Advanced Brightening UV Defense SPF 50 is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 55.
  • y_2022, m_1, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_GB, sid_3337875702478, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_skinceuticals-eu
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 130ms
  • reviews, product

Advanced Brightening UV Defense SPF 50

Advanced Brightening UV Defense SPF 50

Dual-action, lightweight sunscreen with SPF 50 that helps protect the skin from UV-induced discolouration and helps evens skin tone.

Choose to subscribe to this product and receive 10% off, plus free shipping and deluxe samples

SKINCEUTICALS SUBSCRIPTION

How it works :
  • 1. Receive 10% off every order plus free shipping*
  • 2. Manage frequency, delivery and product quantity
  • 3. You'll receive a reminder email before each delivery
  • 4. Cancel subscription anytime, please allow up to 48 hours for any modifications or cancellations*
  • 5. All subscriptions automatically end after 2 years. Restart your subscription to continue receiving your order
  • Full Terms & Conditions can be found here

Why shop with us ?

  • Free delivery on all orders​
  • 2 free luxury samples with every order worth up to £38

Key Ingredients

Composition

AQUA / WATER, ALCOHOL DENAT., ETHYLHEXYL TRIAZONE, DROMETRIZOLE TRISILOXANE, ISONONYL ISONONANOATE, ISOPROPYL LAUROYL SARCOSINATE, BUTYL METHOXYDIBENZOYLMETHANE, DIISOPROPYL SEBACATE, BIS-ETHYLHEXYLOXYPHENOL METHOXYPHENYL TRIAZINE, NIACINAMIDE, DIMETHICONE, METHYLENE BIS-BENZOTRIAZOLYL TETRAMETHYLBUTYLPHENOL [NANO] /, METHYLENE BIS-BENZOTRIAZOLYL TETRAMETHYLBUTYLPHENOL, OCTOCRYLENE, PROPANEDIOL, ETHYLHEXYL SALICYLATE, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, SILICA, TRANEXAMIC ACID, TOCOPHEROL, PHENOXYETHANOL, PEG-10 DIMETHICONE, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, POLYGLYCERYL-10 LAURATE, SODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, CETEARYL GLUCOSIDE, MICA, GLYCERIN, PEG-20, AMMONIUM ACRYLOYLDIMETHYLTAURATE/VP COPOLYMER, TRISODIUM ETHYLENEDIAMINE DISUCCINATE, CARBOMER, INULIN LAURYL CARBAMATE, T-BUTYL ALCOHOL.

*Please be aware that ingredient lists for products in our brand are updated regularly. Please refer to the ingredient list on the product package for the most up-to-date list of ingredients to ensure it is suitable for your personal use.

How is SkinCeuticals committed to becoming more sustainable?

SkinCeuticals is committed to looking for ways to improve the sustainability profile of our formulas and ingredient development by aiming to follow these principles:

  • Reduce our water footprint index
  • Source more renewable ingredients
  • Increase biodegradability (of rinse-off formulas)
  • Minimise our packaging through continuous optimisation and innovation and greater use of post-consumer recycled (PCR) materials.
SkinCeuticals Advanced Brightening UV Defense SPF 50 is an effective way of helping to protect the skin against UV-induced discolouration. This residue-free sunscreen uses a dual-action, lightweight formula that is enriched with potent ingredients including 1% Tranexamic Acid and 2% Niacinamide. Apply every morning to target discolouration, protect the skin from broad-spectrum UV rays and brighten your overall skin tone.

You May Also Like

Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Performance product! I've tried a few SPF 50's, and either they take forever to rub in or have irritated my eyes. This blends in really easily and is extremely effective! Brilliant product
Date published: 2020-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sunscreen but mildly irritating I have very sensitive skin so always approach new products with caution especially sunscreens. I love the consistency of this product and the science behind it is fantastic. In short I really wanted to love it but found it made my facial skin slightly itchy. I’m using it on my chest and backs of hands and it’s wonderful sinks in straight away so white cast etc. I recommend trying but it’s very personal I think how certain ingredients can make your skin react. I’ll use it all up but keep using my other tinted skinceuticals one on my face.
Date published: 2021-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite sunscreen ever!!! Is an amazing to apply, not greasy no white cast. It sinks into the skin well, I didn't have any adverse reactions to my skin whatsoever, no breakouts. As a daily user of spf, this one will certainly be added to my routine. Although the only negative side that I can say is that the price is a little high for me, it is a tad expensive compared to other brands, which will likely put many potential customers off trying it, which is sad as a lovely product and amazing brand. I really recommend for oily skin people out there.
Date published: 2021-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous sunscreen I’ve been using this sunscreen regularly over the last few months. It has a lovely texture and is a great base for makeup when I use foundation. My skin looks great and seems to be free if any discolouration and has certainly has no sun damage!
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SPF So far I am loving this SPF! I have melasma & also use actives in my skincare routine so I wear an SPF 50 daily. I can find it hard to find one to suit my oily (spot prone) skin type that isn’t too heavy, thick and doesn’t clog pores- this is the answer! The texture is a lightweight lotion/cream. It melts into the skin as you apply and doesn’t feel thick or heavy or suffocating to your skin. There is a very slight white tint on first application but this disappears within a couple of minutes (I’m fair skin toned). It layers well under makeup or can be worn alone. Because I have an oily skin type I find I can wear this solely as my hydrating lotion. I love that it has niacamide in it!! I’ve been using it for a couple of weeks now and think my skin is looking great. I’m really looking forward to seeing how the brightening effects come into play as I use up the bottle but so far it’s great! I think it’s clever that the product is dual action, both treating and protecting. It’s not often you can say you’re enjoying wearing a SPF product and I am!
Date published: 2020-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great SPF that brightens your skin I have just started using this add I like the texture and it also has brightened my skin. The main thing I love is that tt doesn't leave a strong white cast on the face, like a lot of other SPFs. I really like this product
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow amazing texture !!! Absolutely love this new spf sunscreen...the lightweight texture and non tacky feel on your skin is amazing!!! Super brightening my complexion and giving me that glow....love the new bigger size too!!
Date published: 2020-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feels lovely Been using this product now for about a month, it’s very hydrating and sinks into the skin lovely. I have even noticed a slight lightening on pigmentation. Wish I had taken a photo.
Date published: 2020-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! I have been using SkinCeuticals Ultra Facial UV Defence since it was introduced but this new product is amazing - makes the skin look brighter and more refreshed
Date published: 2020-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely, but high in alcohol / can be drying I am currently in my second tube of this. I love the look on my skin after layering this on top of my serum and moisturiser. The niacinamide and trenaxemic acid in this formula are wonderful additions: the problem I had with my previous SPF cream was the fact that I'd notice a darkening effect after the cream dried and absorbed in the skin (as in my skin looked a bit...unwashed, not in terms of complexion) and that lead me to look for a sunscreen with brightening ingredients to reduce the time I'd have to spend sampling a ton of different products. However, I wish they modified the formula to reduce the amount of alcohol used in this product (actually realised that alcohol denat. is very high in the list of ingredients). If I reapply a few times, this leads to my skin feeling drier and uncomfortable :( . It's sad because it led me to think about trying a different sunscreen while I actually want to stick with this one.
Date published: 2021-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SPF50 lovely non greasy face cream Hi, I've been using the Advanced Brightening UV defense SPF50 face cream for about 4 months now. I have not reviewed it before because I wanted to use it long term before rushing to pass comment. Well, I find it absolutely fantastic. It is not greasy, soaked in my skin really well. No outbreak of spots (I'm 63 but lots of sun lotion creams make me breakout in spots). Have not burnt my skin, looks good, with or without makeup. Would definetly buy again.
Date published: 2020-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favourite SPF so far! I have been using Advanced Brightening UV Defense SPF 50 for about 3 months and I absolutely love it! As someone who has sensitive skin, I am usually very picky when it comes to sunscreen as most of the products can make the skin sensitivity worse and cause my skin to breakout, but this product is different. Not only my skin doesn’t break out. My skin looks great, healthier and brighter than ever, with a more even tone. I am pleased to see that, alongside giving good protection, this product is treating some of my discolourations. The product is unscented and it has a lightweight texture that spreads easily onto the skin. Although the lotion is slightly white tinted, it fades away as soon as the product is absorbed, leaving no white cast at all, which works very well under makeup but it is also nice when it's used alone, as it leaves the skin with that lovely natural glow!
Date published: 2020-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An SPF that doesn't feel thick and gloopy Unless I'm on holiday I don't typically wear an SPF every day as I've never liked the feeling of them, but recently I saw my skin under a skin scanner machine which showed pigmentation and I've been looking for one ever since. This doesn't feel too thick on application, it feels more like the consistency of a moisturiser, which makes it easy to apply makeup after.
Date published: 2020-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light texture and Easy To Be Absorbed!! The texture is very light!! For normal SPF 50 I found it could be super oily but NOT THIS ONE! It is so LIGHT! Also makes skin very hydrated at the same time. It's super easy to be absorbed by skin and doesn't leave skin a 'fake white' colour after applying it! I love the matte texture on skin. It's definitely a must have for daily skin care!! Highly recommend!
Date published: 2021-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useable SPF Although it’s not the right time of year to test the protection of this product, I use SPF every day due to melasma, and struggle to find one that is ‘wearable’. Although this goes on with a white hue when first applied, it soon sinks in and feels like normal moisturiser once on for a while. I will use this every day from now on.
Date published: 2020-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Advanced Brightening UV Defence SPF I’ve been using this product for several weeks during the lockdown and I’ve found it to be a wonderful SPF. It’s incredibly light on my skin and blends in really well, leaving no white residue. I’ve previously used the Brightening SPF but I think I may love this even more. It sits really well under makeup too.
Date published: 2020-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best sunscreen I ever used!!! This sunscreen is absolutely exceptional. It is lightweight non greasy but high protection. You can wear makeup over the top with out it piling which often happens with other sun creams when makeup is worn. I will definitely purchase this again and genuinely recommend it. Fantastic product!!
Date published: 2021-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great protection I applied this every morning before stepping out to work. Great protection. I noticed a difference in how smooth and clear my skin was. I really believe that it was this UV protection that made the difference as I was NOT applying any new products to my routine except for this one. Love it
Date published: 2021-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light and easily absorbed! I’ve found this to be a great day to day high factor sunscreen for my face. It’s actually encouraged me to use sun proctection more often as it so light and easily absorbed whereas some can be thick and leave my skin too shiny. Easy to use in the morning as part of your routine.
Date published: 2020-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I was apprehensive about using this product as my skin is oily down the centre. I was able to try it during lockdown and was rather surprised at how good it made my skin look. It did not make it oily but gave it a slight glow and good protection. Would definitely buy again.
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really effective I really like this sunscreen under my makeup. Over summer, I noticed that this was the more effective in preventing sun spots/freckles than the other sunscreen I also use. The only issue is the shine so, like I said, under makeup it’s great but I can’t use it on its own.
Date published: 2020-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this cream I’ve tried lots of face sunscreen and this is the best. It absorbs beautifully and is a perfect base for applying makeup. You feel ultra protected from the sun and it’s good to know that it’s working on reducing pigmentation too. I would highly recommend.
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant suncream I often breakout with suncream, this does not do that. It is light, easily sinks in and doesn't feel like I am wearing suncream. My skin looks great though, it does indeed brighten my skin. I was told I 'looked well'. It is a pleasure to wear.
Date published: 2020-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Product Lovely, light sun-screen. I use winter and summer, it's light and has a great texture. It doesn't 'sit' on the skin, or feel heavy, or clog up pores, It can also double-up as a moisturiser if you don't have dry skin, works well under make-up.
Date published: 2020-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sunscreen Product is thinner than usual for a high protection sunscreen which means it absorbs into the skin better and doesn't leave the dreaded white sheen. Works well under makeup and my skin has been protected during the recent hot weather!
Date published: 2021-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect everyday sunscreen The light and non-greasy texture of this sunscreen make it perfect for wearing everyday. I have very fair skin so I really appreciate a product I can wear year-round under my make up or on its own without getting a shiny complexion.
Date published: 2020-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this This cream is lovely to use, it’s light weight even on the warmest of days. I always wear a sun screen on my face, but sometimes find the factor 50 can be thicker and takes a while to absorb, but this just glides on effortlessly.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compact defence you can trust! Pros- Reliable product with great brightening results in combination with Vitamin C serum. Compact size so easy to carry around. Cons- A bit expensive for SPF and a bit thick so can be difficult to use with other products.
Date published: 2021-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely light SPF Have been using now for a month and the results are superb . Lovely light absorbant spf I have been confident when out in even strong sunlight that my skin is being protected. Would highly recommend this product
Date published: 2020-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feels great I’ve been using this product during the recent sunny weather on top of my daily serum and it feels like having a moisturiser in. It’s not claggy like some sun creams. Can’t say I’ve noticed brighter skin though.
Date published: 2021-07-21
  • y_2022, m_1, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_GB, sid_3337875702478, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_skinceuticals-eu
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • reviews, product
Orientation message
For the best experience, please turn your device